Carey, originally known as an English community, was named after M. Patrick Carey who, at the time, owned all the land between St-Pierre West and the railway. Carey is a village of 10 homes and 5 commercial businesses. Carey is well known for its picturesque elevator and beautiful sunsets. The first shareholders of this elevator were Arthur Boaler & M. Cook were. Later on, Mr. Boaler served a term as the Reeve of the RM of De Salaberry. Carey was also a focal point for local school aged children as the one room Carey School house, built directly West of the Village, was next to the Marais River, a local fishing hole for the students.
The Carey School District was established in June 1912 and a one-room schoolhouse operated at SE2-6-3E, west of the village of Carey in the Rural Municipality of De Salaberry. The district was dissolved in 1961 and its area became part of the St. Pierre Consolidated School District. No vestige of the former school building remains at the site.